New Adult Fiction

Just when I thought I knew so much about publishing, I find out I’ve missed an entire genre. Thanks to a comment by Brinda Berry on my previous post in which I suggested that more adults are reading YA fiction than young adults, I have been turned on to New Adult fiction. What is NA?  JJ from St Martin’s Press says that,”New Adult [fiction] is about young adulthood, when you are an adult but have not established your life as one (career, family, what-have-you).”

Click for a great blog on the subject of NA fiction as it’s own genre.

Generally, NA protagonists are 18-26 years old. So maybe there’s an audience for my 18 year old main character after all. Though I’m still not sure there wouldn’t be a lot of older adults reading it. Now I’m off with Kindle in hand to download some examples of NA fiction.

5 Responses to “New Adult Fiction”


  1. 1 Dottie October 17, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Hi Vicki!

    Crescent Moon Press has a New Adult line too, Wasteland by Lynn Rush is their first published NA. I just finished it, and it was great. It has some of the elements that might not be possible in YA, such as a sex scene or a little more violence (though I’ve read YA with both as well). The protagonists are in their twenties too (actually much longer, but appear to be that age). The audience is expected to be a little older (like in your post), but I’m WELL past my twenties, and have really been enjoying this new genre. Just as YA draws me, NA does as well (maybe I just want to relive my youth? LOL). I know I fall outside the targeted audience.. that only means I’m diversified, lol.

    Dottie 🙂

    • 2 vickietaylor October 17, 2011 at 2:32 pm

      Thanks, Dottie! I’ll check out Wasteland and Crescent Moon Press. And that makes two of us on the “diversified” list. I am really enjoying YA fiction.

  2. 3 Cally Jackson October 17, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks for linking to my blog, Vickie. Glad you enjoyed my post!

  3. 4 Brinda Berry (@Brinda_Berry) October 18, 2011 at 12:53 am

    I have Wasteland on my bookshelf and can’t wait to read it. Entangled Publishing is another press with a New Adult line. Ward Against Death is a release in the line that has gotten some great reviews. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 507 other followers


