The 100 day challenge of 2011

Just this week I said I don’t do New Year’s resolutions, and that’s still true. However this year I’ve decided to challenge myself a little bit, and if I’m challenging myself, what the hell…I might as well challenge you, too. So starting tomorrow, I’m officially beginning the 100-day challenge of 2011 for myself and anyone else who wants to play.

Yes, there will be fabulous prizes. Which I haven’t picked out yet, so don’t even ask.

The 100-day challenge is not your typical New Year’s resolution. The 100-day challenge is not about making yourself (myself!) do things we don’t like–such as exercising. It’s about allowing ourselves to do the things we love. We’re all limited to some degree by lack of time or money. Some may suffer lack of support from friends or family. We’re pressured by the things we think we must do, or should be doing, and everything else gets pushed to a back burner.

The 100-day challenge is about picking one of those back-burner items and making it a priority. Every. Day. For 100 days.

My challenge item is writing. I love to write. But it is so easily pushed off for other things. I think, “I’ll just do this other thing today, and write twice as much tomorrow (which never happens) to make it up.” No more! I hearby vow to write every day for 100 days, no matter what. There may be (probably will be) days when I only write a single sentence, but that’s okay. Because the 100-day challenge is also about building the habit. And no, writing a check or a grocery list doesn’t count. It’s about opening the mental file every day, keeping the story active in my mind.

I’ve read that if you do something everyday for 21 days, it becomes a habit. 100 days should make it a lifelong practice then, shouldn’t it?

I’m also working on the fabulous prize I’ll give myself when I meet that goal on April 10, 2011.

Just for the hell of it, I’m going to throw in a second challenge activity for myself, which is to read every day for 100 days–again, even if it’s only one sentence.

I encourage all my writer friends to join me in this challenge. Please!?

For that matter, I encourage all my non-writer friends to join me as well. The only rule is to pick something you want to do, not something you don’t want to do. I’m hoping lots of you will pick reading. There are many fabulous authors out there to be discovered.

Some other ideas? How about finding something every day to complement your child or your spouse about? How about those of you with that puppy you’ve been meaning to train? I bet some of you like to bead, or paint. One stroke of the brush per day, that’s all it takes to win. I’m betting some days you’ll do a lot more…once you’ve developed the habit.

Please let me know if decide to join in. If you don’t want to post publicly in the comments here, shoot me an email: Vickie@VickieTaylor.com

If 100 days of anything seems overwhelming, don’t worry. There are no losers. If you miss a day, just restart the clock. There is no expiration date on the challenge, and we can all do this!

Happy New Year, everyone.

36 Responses to “The 100 day challenge of 2011”


  1. 1 Kim January 1, 2011 at 12:50 am

    I’ll see your challenge – I’ll write too. What a great idea, I LOVE it!!

    • 2 vickietaylor January 1, 2011 at 3:13 am

      Awesome, Kim! I’ve got a couple of others signed up, but they’re cluck cluck chickens and won’t post publicly…just participating by email. Let the 100 day party begin!

  2. 3 Sandy January 1, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    ummm….ok. I’m in. I already did 15 things today, so I’m WAY ahead of you guys. 🙂

  3. 8 Suzanne Ferrell January 1, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    Count me in, Vicki! I already opened my MIP (Mess In Progress) for the day and am also reading on my new Kindle. Maybe I’ll finish this new book sooner.

    • 9 vickietaylor January 1, 2011 at 6:53 pm

      Yeah, Suzanne!!!!!

      I spent an hour reading this morning. It was heaven. I’m also working on the writing part now, so day one: check! Success!

  4. 10 Ashley January 1, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    Okay CP buddy! I’ll accept your challenge in the form of pages revised–in preparation for pitching my ms in April. I’ll accept for reading daily, too. Cheers!

  5. 12 Blake January 1, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    OK, I’m in! I’ll be writing and reading along with you. I’ve got about two dozen new books on my Kindle I need to get through…

  6. 14 Pamela Stone January 2, 2011 at 12:59 am

    Hi Vickie,

    Consider your writing challenge accepted. Not sure with starting a new position on Monday that I’ll take on the reading challenge unless reading on the net counts. But I will attempt to write daily and post here from time to time.

    • 15 vickietaylor January 2, 2011 at 1:17 am

      Glad to have you, Pam! Email me and tell me about your new position! You can do it…even a sentence counts, because this one is not about page count…it’s about keeping the story percolating in the mind and building the habit of opening the file every day.

  7. 16 Kate January 2, 2011 at 1:11 am

    I have all sorts of goals about writing, but I could use a nudge on finding something to complement each of my kids about. So, I’m gonna play with that. All four kids taken care of today. 99 days to go.

    • 17 vickietaylor January 2, 2011 at 1:19 am

      Good for you, Kate! I really believe that making sure to appreciate something about kids every day (we’re all good at the criticizing part) helps build their confidence for the future. 99 is nothing! You got this!

  8. 18 Risa January 2, 2011 at 4:20 am

    Vickie, this is just the thing I’ve been looking for! I’m in! I’m ready to make honest-to-goodness progress on my writing and even though all it takes is writing every day, something so simple is so hard to put into practice. Thank you for your challenge because it is wonderful support right where I need it.

    • 19 vickietaylor January 2, 2011 at 6:10 pm

      We’re glad to have you, Risa! I was out on a search in the wee hours this morning, just getting home, so I’m getting a late start today, but I’ll be putting up another blog post with some motivation in a little while.

  9. 20 Angi Morgan January 2, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    I know I’m late to the party, but I did write about 100 words yesterday (not much, but enough to count. ~~ Only read a couple of paragraphs (darn it).

    Would love to be accountable somewhere, Vickie !! Thanks.
    ~~Angi

    • 21 vickietaylor January 2, 2011 at 6:12 pm

      Welcome, Angi! Don’t sweat yesterday. It was a holiday! I didn’t get a lot of pages done, either. But like you, I *did* write. I’ll be putting up a new blog post in a little while that explains why I think writing every day, even 100 words is *so* important.

  10. 22 Carolyn Williamson January 3, 2011 at 2:47 am

    Vicki,
    I thought about this and waited all day to finish. I already write for at least an hour almost every day, but I have several goals:
    1. Finish polishing my current romantic suspense and pitch to Intrigue
    2. Finish the single title ‘thriller’ I’ve finished 18 chapters of and polish it before the DFW Writer’s Conference at the end of February and pitch to an agent there as well as at Dreamin’ in Dallas
    3. Plan and establish two web sites, one for a cookbook and one to promote my novels
    4. Rework the “book of my heart” so it will be more likely to sell
    Carolyn Williamson

  11. 23 Pamela Stone January 3, 2011 at 3:42 am

    I did a major rewrite on my second chapter today. WooHoo! But tomorrow is back to work, so. . .But I will write! How is everyone else doing?

    • 24 vickietaylor January 3, 2011 at 3:48 am

      Great job, Pam! Good luck tomorrow. Maybe print off the last pg. of your manuscript so you know where you left off and jot down a little more on the back. Even one sentence is okay! It’ll keep that story percolating.

  12. 25 Angela January 3, 2011 at 4:20 am

    I’m in! I really like the idea of turning writing everyday into a habit. 🙂

    Thanks for doing this!

    Angela 🙂

  13. 27 Tracy Garrett January 3, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    Vickie, I’m in. I’m a couple days behind, but I’m still in.

    • 28 vickietaylor January 3, 2011 at 8:53 pm

      WooHoo, another victi–I mean, participant! Did you write any at all on Jan. 1 and 2, Tracy, or is today your “start” day?

  14. 29 Carolyn Williamson January 6, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    So far I have edited chapters 14 -20 and taken 14 and 15 to critique group to “discuss.” I’ll have to re-edit those. I have also run chapters 1-5 through Grammatik. I’m pretty good with spelling and grammar but sometimes forget to include all the quotation marks. This may not be the best grammar program, but it catches that.
    Carolyn Williamson

  15. 31 Pamela Stone January 11, 2011 at 4:42 am

    Hey, so far I’ve written eery day. Maybe not a lot, but I’m writing and I’m psyched.

    • 32 vickietaylor January 11, 2011 at 1:58 pm

      That’s great, Pam! Keep going! I’ve made it so far, too. I’ve had some really good days (like last Saturday) where I wrote like the wind and created lots of pages I’m really happy with as well as a few days where I’ve just squeaked by with a few paragraphs…but it’s all adding up and that’s what counts!

  16. 33 Carolyn Williamson February 21, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I have just finished my thriller so I can pitch it to an agent at the DFW Writer’s Workshop conference this coming weekend. Now I need to polish my proposal for my cookbook, Healthy Cooking on a shoestring.
    Carolyn Williamson

  17. 35 Pamela Stone February 25, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    So far I’ve written most days and at least done something related to writing every day. Mailed a proposal to my editor. This is fun.


  1. 1 Taking care of yourself — mind, body and spirit « Vickietaylor's Blog Trackback on January 14, 2011 at 3:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 507 other followers


