Bucket Lists

Someone asked me the other day how many things I’ve checked off my “bucket list” — you know, that list of things you want to do before you kick the bucket. I was stymied. I couldn’t think of a single thing. That’s because I really don’t have a bucket list. That’s not to say that I don’t have some long-term goals. There are things I’d like to do to improve my life. But they’re the type of things you work on day-in, day-out, not one-time events that can be checked off a list.

Sure, I’d like to make the New York Times bestseller list. But if I don’t, I can live with that. Or more appropriate to the topic, I can die with that. What I really want is to establish a writing career, in a genre or genres I love, that provides enough income to lead a stable life. I love writing. I love the lifestyle if affords (who else, besides authors, get to work on their couch in their PJ’s every day and get paid for making sh%$ up?). That just doesn’t seem like the kind of thing that goes on a bucket list.

I have no desire to ride a bull, or jump out of a perfectly good airplane. The days when I wanted to win a world championship with one of my show horses are long gone. Travel is fun for short trips, but I don’t really like being cramped on an airplane for hours and hours, and after a few days out of town I start to miss the quiet of my farm. The only places I really have any interest in seeing are the Coliseum, maybe the ruins of Pompeii, and the glaciers from an Alaskan cruise.  Guess I’m just a homebody.

I’m lucky enough to have attained most of the things I want in life: my farm, my animals, publishing books. My life now is about appreciating what I have, enjoying every day, and making the world a better place in whatever small ways I can.

Anybody else have a bucket list? What is on it?

0 Responses to “Bucket Lists”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 507 other followers


