What I did on my summer vacation

Wow, the kids are back in school and September is almost here. Where did summer go? For those of you wondering what’s been going on in Vickie Taylor’s world, here’s a summary:

1) Wrote a book. The fourth book in the Gargoyles series, tentatively titled RUNESTONE is nearly complete

2) Did copy edits and galleys for my December and January releases, LEGACY OF STONE and A DOCTOR’S WATCH, respectively

3) Wrote 2 proposals and a novella

4) Volunteered with the Humane Society of North Texas after they assisted on one of the biggest puppy mill busts in Texas history when the Montague County Sheriff’s Office closed down Heddins Kennel and seized nearly 500 dogs. It’s been a tough year for animal welfare in Texas. Just weeks later, nearly 600 dogs were seized from a puppy mill in Kaufman County. This on top of the March seizure of around 250 large animals (horses, cows, llamas) in Hill County. Then we topped it all off two weeks ago with the Denton County Sheriff’s Office seizure of 77 prized Arabian horses from a ranch in my own home town! I’m currently spending several hours a day caring for the horses until they can be found homes, hopefully by the end of September.

5) Went on a bunch of searches for missing persons with my Search and Rescue dog, Krista. 2009 has been the busiest year in the 25 year history of the team.

6) Sold a super-secret project to a super-secret buyer which can’t be announced yet because the contract isn’t signed. How’s that for a teaser? More on that later. I hope…

Hmmm. Not much mention of vacation in my summer vacation report, is there? I’ve really been too busy to get away. I hope to correct that in October, starting with a breast cancer benefit trail ride called “Ride for the Cure” in Oklahoma. I’m going to have to find some pink booties and ribbons for his mane for my trail horse, Storm. *snort* He is NOT going to like that. I’ll have to catch some pictures just to embarrass him.

I hope everyone has had a fun and productive summer. Until next time,

Vickie Taylor

24 Responses to “What I did on my summer vacation”


  1. 1 Dottie September 2, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Hi Vickie!

    Congrats are having such a productive summer! Wow, wrote a book, edits, proposals … it kind of makes my summer appear lacking in comparison, lol. I read a bunch of books, played with writing a little, and saw several excellent movies. Other than that, hmmmm….not too much else. Vacation was out the window this year, the kids were in way too many activities. Instead we did a weekend trip and hit an amusement park, much less expensive and the kids loved the go carts. Continued success to you!! (can’t wait to see what you’ve written!)

    Dottie 🙂

  2. 2 jackie martin September 27, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    i have recently come upon your books and i just finished carved in stone, but i can’t find any others. where can i find your books?? it is hard for me to find books that keep my attention to read them all the way through and i am happy to say i couldn’t seem to put it down (i had to of course to tend to my animals, but other than that…lol) i hope to find them and read them all soon. keep up the great work and thank you for your time.

    sincerely,
    jackie martin

    • 3 vickietaylor September 27, 2009 at 10:51 pm

      Hi Jackie!
      Sorry you’re having trouble finding the books. CARVED IN STONE is the first of a 4-book series. FLESH AND STONE is next. If you can’t find it in your bookstore, you can ask them to order it, or try online at amazon.com or bn.com (barnes and noble). If all else fails, let me know and I’ll send you a copy. The third book is LEGACY OF STONE, and it will be released this December. You should be able to find it in bookstores then. The fourth book, RUNESTONES (tentative title) is due out in late 2010.

      You might also look for my stories in the anthologies BITE (usually shelved in the SciFi section under Laurell K. Hamilton as she was the lead author in the anthology) and DEMON’S DELIGHT (usually shelved under Mary Janice Davidson in romance section).

      I will also have a romantic suspense out in January, 2010, called A DOCTOR’S WATCH.

      I’m glad you enjoyed CARVED IN STONE. It was definitely a labor of love.

      Thanks for writing, and stay in touch!
      Vickie Taylor

      • 4 Sandy k December 8, 2009 at 2:03 am

        Hi Vickie,

        I live in Singapore and was looking forward to the release of “legacy of stone” but guess what BORDERS SINGAPORE hasn’t got it and they don’t plan to!!! GGGrrrrrrr, why can’t they get their act together …. they are an american store and they should have all the books they have in the US! I bought your other Gargoyle books from them here so it is surprising that they do not follow up with the series.
        Could you look into it please, I am desperate to get my hands on that book!
        Thanks a million,
        Sandy

      • 5 vickietaylor December 10, 2009 at 2:19 pm

        Sandy…ack! Did you ask Borders if they could order it? Most bookstores can and will for no additional charge.

  3. 6 jackie martin October 2, 2009 at 12:50 am

    Thank you so much for taking the time respond, it is very kind of you. i have checked in bowling and glasgow, ky. and so far have had no luck in finding the second book. i have even been checking in used book store and no luck either. i will keep looking and thanks again.

  4. 7 jackie martin October 2, 2009 at 12:53 am

    i also have a suggestion for nathan to be played by DERMOT MULRONEY OR maybe even HUGH GRANT would be wonderful, he is so versital and i think he could pull it off well. THANKS AGAIN.

  5. 8 jackie martin October 3, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    i have had no luck in finding your book flesh and bone or any othe books by you. i went to several book stores and was told they are all out of print and i can’t get them. i was wondering if you could help me with flesh and bone atleast for now. how much would it be to get a copy from you and ship to me? i am in smiths grove, ky.42171 i thank you again for all your emails and hope to get to read FLESH AND BONE soon. thank you so much again for taking the time to help me, i appreciate it so much.

    jackie martin

  6. 9 jackie martin October 28, 2009 at 12:45 am

    i still haven’t been able to find the second book, i even have relatives in n.c. looking for me. thanks for your help, maybe i will just to skip and go to the 3rd by the looks of it. thanks again for taking the time to talk to me and offer your help.

  7. 10 vickietaylor October 28, 2009 at 1:30 am

    Jackie,

    I just checked, and Flesh and Stone is available by order on both Amazon.com and BN.com (Barnes and Noble online bookstore). I don’t mind sending you a copy if you pay postage if you don’t do online orders. Just send me an self-addressed stamped envelope with postage.

    I don’t have any copies left of Bite or Devil’s Delight. Sorry.

    Vickie Taylor

  8. 11 jackie martin November 2, 2009 at 3:03 am

    how much is the postage and where do i send it to you? i appreciate this so much.my number is 270-590-5048 if you need to call me. thanks again.

    • 12 vickietaylor November 10, 2009 at 1:32 pm

      Jackie, do you know how to use PayPal? Just sent $6 to the email address vespears@gte.net through PayPal. It will ask for your shipping address when you make the payment, so I will know where to send the books. I’ll throw in a little something extra for your trouble.

      Thanks,
      Vickie

      • 13 jackie martin November 11, 2009 at 9:00 pm

        thank you, i sent it to you paypal. it is listed under my mother’s name patricia martin you can send it to her address. thank you again for all your help.

      • 14 jackie martin November 25, 2009 at 2:39 pm

        hello vickie,
        i hope you have a great thanksgiving and just to let you know i am still waiting for the books, i have not received anything yet. hope to hear from you soon.

        thanks again, jackie martin

      • 15 vickietaylor November 25, 2009 at 3:47 pm

        Hi Jackie. I hope you have a terrific Thanksgiving, too! Sorry I took a few extra days to get the package to you, but I wanted to include a special gift and was waiting for it to arrive. I’m not going to tell you what…it will have to be a surprise! All is on it’s way now. You should have it soon.

      • 16 jackie martin November 25, 2009 at 8:47 pm

        thank you very much!! you are the best.

  9. 17 Lucy November 7, 2009 at 12:59 am

    Hi Vicki,

    Can you do me a favor and send me the full cover blurb for Legacy of Stone please? It’s for our website listing for December.

    Thanks!

    • 18 vickietaylor November 10, 2009 at 1:30 pm

      Here you go, Lucy:

      His heritage…As a child, Levi Tremaine discovered he possessed abilities he could neither understand nor control.

      His fear…As a man, he isolated himself from “normal” society, preferring instead to exist in a shadowy world of deception and violence, among people as dangerous as he.

      His deliverance…Now Levi is being hunted by the forces of both good and evil who want to use him for the very abilities that drove him into hiding. Can he distinguish friend from foe in time to save his everlasting soul–and the woman he loves?

  10. 20 jackie martin December 7, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    hi vickie,
    how did you send the books? i still haven’t received them, i was wondering if you could track them and find out where they are. sorry to bother you about it. thanks, jackie

  11. 21 jackie martin December 25, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    MERRY CHRISTMAS VICKIE!!!!
    I HOPE YOU HAVE A GREAT NEW YEAR ALSO!!!!

    I JUST FINISHED THE SECOND BOOK IN THE GARGOYLE SERIES AND I AM ALREADY HALF WAY THROUGH THE THIRD, THEY ARE GREAT!! THANKS AGAIN.

    • 22 vickietaylor December 26, 2009 at 1:35 pm

      Jackie, Wow, you’re a fast reader! I’m so glad you’re enjoying the books. Happy Holidays!

      • 23 jackie martin December 27, 2009 at 5:45 pm

        just finished the third one, i couldn’t put it down. i can’t wait till your next one!!
        keep up the great work!! you are the best!!!!

      • 24 vickietaylor December 28, 2009 at 6:07 pm

        Jackie, I’m so glad you liked them. I hope your mom is enjoying some of the books too! Positive Amazon and BarnesandNoble.com reviews are always appreciated! And please tell your friends! I’m trying to make a living at this, lol.


Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 507 other followers


