Still Dreamin’ in Dallas

Each year the Dallas-area chapter of the Romance Writers of America puts on a conference for writers. It’s a fantastic event with headline speakers, great workshops, get-the-real-scoop panels of agents and editors and best of all — an environment of great optimism and inspiration for writers at all stages of their careers. Despite the economic doom and gloom we’re all saddled with, the feeling at the conference was very positive. Writers are still writing, agents are still accepting clients and editors are still buying.

Little business tidbits I picked up from the agents and editors? First – paranormal is still hot, especially shape shifters. Two – it was nice to hear both agents and editors specifically looking for historicals. Hopefully that means that market is on the rebound. Straight contemporary romance is getting tougher to sell, and needs to not sound too much like chick-lit. Needs a really strong premise.

Mostly it was just a nice day reconnecting with some old friends, conversing with a bunch of highly creative people — writers are the only ones who really understand writers — making some new friends, and finding inspiration in the words of others. Biggest thing I took away from the conference: a reminder that I have the BEST job in the world!

By the way, I meant to take pictures now that I’ve mastered the digital upload to Facebook, but I totally got involved in the conference and forgot. Which also reminds me, if you Twitter or Facebook, look me up there for more info.

2 Responses to “Still Dreamin’ in Dallas”


  1. 1 Nina May 8, 2009 at 5:27 am

    Hi Vickie,

    I’m glad that you got to meet with old friends that share similar jobs and interests! That must be a powerful experience. I would like to say however, that I noticed the trend in paranormal romance as well, more specifically Vampires. First it was Harry Potter that hit the teen scene and now it’s Twilight. Personally, I’d like something fresh. Vampires, werewolves, ghosts, ghouls, and witches or wizards alike are getting over-used. I hope someone thinks of the next greatest thing. I guess it only takes one aspiring novelist and soon enough they’re rolling in the dough with their idea placarded on everything. I can’t say that I specifically hope that it’s you, that would be butt-kissing to its highest. Likewise, I won’t say I hope its me, thats rude and selfish. However, I pray to the Muses and plead Inspiration to hit someone hard enough that a shift in trends occur. For now, I just hope I’m not the only one drowning in re-used plots, and deadpan characters.
    (I seriously hope that your Les Gargouillen series will become movies. That would be awesome!! And it would show that there’s more to shape-shifters than werewolves.)

    • 2 vickietaylor May 21, 2009 at 1:48 pm

      Hey Nina,
      CARVED IN STONE was actually optioned for a movie a couple of years ago. Alas, it didn’t make it through the final funding/production process (only about 1 out of 1,000 stories optioned actually get made) but it was still really fun to have conference calls with the producers. It was so cliche! All that “my people will call your people” and “let’s do lunch” stuff. They really do talk like that out in Hollyweird!

      I’d love to have a movie made out of any one of my stories some day, thought I think it would strange to see someone else’s face on my characters.


Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 507 other followers


