Gadget Geek

I am no domestic goddess–not even close. So I’ve never contemplated myself as a gadget geek – one of those people who has every kitchen gadget known to man or woman. But today as I was looking for a place to store one of my crock pots after I finished washing it, I took stock of myself. More accurately, I took stock of my kitchen cabinets.

I have three crock pots – small, medium and large. I actually have four, since the lid broke on my large one last fall and I had to buy a whole new one of the exact same model since the manufacturer doesn’t sell replacement lids. I kept the crock itself and the ceramic liner, thinking they’d be good backup in case I had a problem with one of the parts on the new one. So I guess I have 3 and 2/3 crock pots.

In my cabinet, I noticed I also have a mini-chopper. I had gotten tired last year of my hands smelling and my eyes watering as I chop onion and garlic. Next to the chopper was the electric knife and the Mr. Coffee ice tea maker. Of course, I also have a Mr. Coffee coffee maker on the counter. Right next to my second fave gadget (next to my crock pots) the quesadilla maker. The quesadilla maker really shouldn’t count since it is just a bigger version of the George Forman grill, but shaped like a chili pepper. The George Forman I have is the small once, nice for a single chicken breast or a grilled cheese sandwich, but not big enough for a quesadilla-sized tortilla. A bit perplexed, I scanned my other cabinets and found a coffee bean grinder and an immersion blender (love that thing). Back in a corner of the kitchen counter I spyed a deep fryer. Next to the toaster (come on, everyone has a toaster, right?) . I went for my least-used cabinet, thinking there’d surely be space in there, only to find the electric skillet that occupies that space even though I have a perfectly good stove and regular skillet.  Luckily, I was able to shove the medium crock in above the skillet box.

Whew. Kitchen chores done, I washed my hands. The soap dripped into my palm from a motion-sensing automatic dispenser by the sink. Hey, it doesn’t count if it runs on batteries, right!

That quickly, my sense of self was called into question. Am I a secret gadget geek? No, couldn’t be. After all, I don’t own a bread machine, and my toaster oven stays in my RV, yet to be used on a camping trip, but there just in case.

Nope. No gadget geek here. I’m not going to tell you what I found when I scanned my bathroom cabinets.

Have a great weekend, and try not to count your own gadgets next time you open your cabinets. It’ll just make you crazy.

0 Responses to “Gadget Geek”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 504 other followers


