Writing and Music

The ability to write is somehow connected to listening to music. It’s always been that way for me. My first books were written to classical music. Don’t they say listening to Mozart increases a person’s IQ by several points? I’m not sure listening to symphonies made me any smarter, but it did free up the log jam of daily worries, bills to pay, phone calls needing to be returned and mental lists of things to remember to pick up next time I go to Wal-Mart. Somehow the rhythm creates the flow, and with the flow come the words.

Later I branched out from my 2 classical CDs. I still needed music without lyrics to avoid being distracted, but I started listening to a lot of movie soundtracks. CARVED IN STONE came to life while I played the soundtrack to Phantom of the Opera on continuous repeat. For FLESH AND STONE, I alternated between Gladiator and A Beautiful Mind. Weird combo, I know. My latest (not yet released) LEGACY OF STONE was written to the haunting tones of the Lord of the Rings CD.

All this time, I’ve been writing to music with few or no lyrics. So why is this latest story, working title THE UNICORN MAIDEN, breaking the pattern? I have no idea. All I know is I can’t get a word down without Train’s “Drops of Jupiter” playing in the background.

It strange how each book has its own personality, and somehow the music has to match that personality. Like I said…there is a connection.

So I wonder what I’ll use for inspirational white noise when I tackle that big, dark thriller I have in mind this summer? Hmm. I wonder if there’s a soundtrack for PSYCHO!

Happy reading, writing or whatever you’re doing this Wednesday.

3 Responses to “Writing and Music”


  1. 1 Kristina February 12, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Hey Vickie,

    I hope your not upset with me. I haven’t heard from you in awhile. Your most likely busy. Owell. Hope to hear from you soon, even if it’s a brief note.

    Kristina

    • 2 vickietaylor February 13, 2009 at 12:03 am

      Not upset in the least! Saw your email, just haven’t been in one place long enough to put together an answer. I will work on it tonight or tomorrow morning. Thanks!

  2. 3 kristinameyer1 February 13, 2009 at 4:58 am

    Whew! Thats’ okay, I figured you were busy. It’s my over active imagination that lead me to believe that I had upset you in someway. No pressure on getting back to me. It’s gotta be tough hiking around the forest looking for missing people. Not to mention praying their not dead. High stress levels in your field of work, nah.


Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 504 other followers


