Life’s little ironies

I’ve mentioned here before that I am involved in search and rescue work. Specifically, I am a search and rescue canine handler on a local, state and national response level. Being a writer also, there is nothing I would like better than to take these SAR experiences, so rich with drama and real-life emotion, and spin the tales here for all to ponder and laugh and cry over with me. I think it would be therapuetic. It is one of life’s little ironies that this thing I would like most to write about is one of the few things that I can’t write about. In some cases, my reticence is out of respect for the privacy of the victims I interact with. Other times, the policies of the governmental agencies I support prohibit discussion. And sometimes the searches are part of an ongoing criminal investigation and must be kept confidential for legal reasons.

Today’s search was one of the latter. I wish I could talk to all of you about it detail. Instead I’ll just say I was harshly reminded today of two truths in life:

1) There are a lot of sick bastards out there, and
2) There but for the grace of God go I, my family or my friends.

‘Nuff said. Hug your loved ones tonight.

No writing today. It’s kind of tough to jump into a fantasy world after a reality check like this morning.

When I can, I’ll sort through my pictures of Hurricanes Dolly, Gustav and Ike which I responded to in 2008 and see if any would be okay to post.

3 Responses to “Life’s little ironies”


  1. 1 eBookGuru January 17, 2009 at 2:36 am

    “It’s kind of tough to jump into a fantasy world after a reality check like this morning.”

    Sounds like it’s time to grab a book and escape to a fantasy world anyway.

    Cheers,
    Trevas

  2. 2 dmci January 18, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Delighted to see you are back and that “Legacy of Stone” is to be published (again?) I was able to find references to the book at Amazon.UK and a copy was available for sale out of Australia, but otherwise nothing.

    Based on one reader’s comment/review I found online, my question is, did you decide to do a rewrite of this book? I’ve been hunting for it since it was supposed to have been released back in late 2007.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the first two of the gargoyle series and am really looking forward to Levi’s story.

    Regards,
    Dale McInnis, Woodbridge, VA

    • 3 vickietaylor January 19, 2009 at 4:22 am

      Hi Dale,
      Legacy of Stone was never published in any country (since I didn’t finish writing it until last month) so I don’t know what they’re selling out of Australia. Probably some just got their titles mixed up. I know the listing was pulled from Amazon in the US, but never deleted from Amazon UK, even though the book was never available.

      I still don’t have a pub date, but I’ll be sure to let everyone know as soon as I hear something.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the first two Gargoyles books. They were a fun bunch of folks to write about. There is also going to be one more after Legacy. I’m working on it now (and it won’t take nearly as long as Legacy to write, I promise!).

      Thanks for posting.
      Vickie


Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 504 other followers


