Day TWO – and still kicking

Hey, it’s only day two on the new website / blog combo, and I’m still here, but I’m afraid I’m already breaking promises. I had planned to make a big crock pot of chicken and dumplings today, but to be honest…it’s just too hot here! Chicken and dumplings are my favorite “comfort food,” but it’s a cold weather food, perfect for curling up on the couch with a blanket and a steaming bowl. Since the high temp was over 70 today, I couldn’t bring myself to make them. Instead I whipped up some beef soft tacos. Here is the recipe…but really…you don’t need a recipe to make this. It’s a no-brainer, even for a non-cook like me.

Beef Tacos:

1 lb. ground beef
1 packet taco seaoning
1 small onion
1 cup water
8 soft flour tortillas or crunchy corn tortillas, your preference
Optional toppings (whichever you like):
– shredded lettuce
-grated cheese
-diced tomato
-sour cream
-avocado

Brown the ground beef, drain and place in slow cooker (I used my 2 qt. cooker – you don’t need a biggie for this). Add diced onion, taco seasoning and water. Stir. Cover and cook on low 6-8 hours. Spoon beef mixture into tortillas, top with your favorite toppings and enjoy.

Sorry – no pictures today. But I’ll try to do better.

Tomorrow’s agenda – it’s supposed to hit 80 degrees! Search dog training in the morning, horseback riding in the afternoon, with a stop at the bookstore somewhere in-between.

Speaking of the book front, I’m getting really jazzed to start on the new book. Still doing a little plotting and working out some character details, but I’ve got that perpetual buzzing going on in my brain. My fingers are itching. I’m going to make myself wait until Monday to actually start, though. I’m trying to have an actual life for a few days and enjoy myself before settling down to a regular writing / work schedule on Monday the 5th.

2 Responses to “Day TWO – and still kicking”


  1. 1 Brigit January 3, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Hi there,
    I’m glad I found this site – was looking for news on _Legacy of Stone_ (am a big fan of the series), and I’m so happy to learn that it *will* be published someday!
    That recipe looked good. How about the one for chicken and dumplings, since I’m not familiar with it?
    Regards,
    B.

    • 2 vickietaylor January 3, 2009 at 11:30 pm

      Hi Brigit!
      Thanks for the comment. Yes, Legacy will hit the shelves eventually – Levi deserves his story! I’ll get the chicken and dumplings recipe up this week, along with some pictures, since it is supposed to turn cold again tomorrow.

      Vickie


Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 507 other followers


