Magic

New Year’s Day is the most magical day of the year. More magical than Christmas, Easter, April Fool’s Day and your birthday all rolled in to one. Because New Year’s Day is about beginnings. Endings were for yesterday. Today is like a shiny new penny. You hold it tight in your fist and look over the counter at the candy store imagining all the gumballs it will buy.

Okay, a penny won’t buy a single gumball these days. But you get my point. On New Year’s Day, no matter how bad your finances are, no matter how out of shape you are, no matter how much you hate your boss, you get the feeling that “this is the year.”

This is the year you’ll leave that dead-end job behind and pursue your dream. This is the year you’ll pay off all those credit cards. This is the year you’ll shed those extra pounds. This is the year you’ll meet that special someone.

It doesn’t matter if you make a list of resolutions or not–the hope is there, whispering to you in the back of your brain. You can’t help it. It’s magic. It’s New Year’s!

This year is feeling especially magical for me, as it looks like I’ll finally have a chance to pursue the dream of being my own boss and writing full time. Leaving the corporate politics, pressure and raised blood pressure behind for days on the couch eating bon-bons.

Riiiiiiiiigggght.

Still, I’m excited about it.

Thank you so much for stopping in to my new blog / website. It is a sign of the new beginning for me for this year. But I don’t want to forget all those who stuck with me for the last year or two. Hundreds of you posted in the guestbook of my old website last year asking when LEGACY OF STONE, the third book in the Gargoyle paranormal romance series would be out. I am sorry to say that for a time (quite a long time) I was overcome by that dead-end job, the pressure and other life events and was very slow to finish the book.  But I’m quite happy to say that it is now FINISHED and in the hands of my editor. I don’t have a shelf date yet, but rest assured it is in the works, and you’ll all be the first to know when I have a date. Um…that would be because I snagged your email addresses off your posts and you’ll all be getting a news flash when the schedule is set. Hope that’s okay.

I also have completed a new book for Silhouette Romantic Suspense that I’m excited about. Read about it in the “Upcoming Releases” section by following the link on the right side of this page. I don’t have a release date on this one yet either, but it is complete and with my editor. She tells me it will probably be early 2010 before it shows up on shelves.

Okay, so this is the first post. What is this blog going to be about? Just books and writing? No way!

I am one of those people who is lucky enough to pursue multiple passions in life.  So check back here to read about not just writing, and books (not just mine), but trail riding (on horseback), working with search and rescue dogs and slow cooker (crock pot) cooking.

Tune in tomorrow for my all-time favorite slow cooked “comfort food” recipe — chicken and dumplings.

Until then, please leave me a comment to let me know you stopped by, and if you have other ideas for discussion, please let me know! I would like to promise that I’ll blog everyday, but I know in my heart that won’t be possible. There are times when I’m camping in wilderness areas or on a disaster scene doing search and rescue that I won’t have cell signal or Internet access. But I’ll do my best to keep up to date with either blog entries or twitter reports (see upper right hand corner of screen) as close to daily as possible.

Happy New Year everyone!

7 Responses to “Magic”


  1. 1 Amie Stuart January 2, 2009 at 1:57 am

    The gumball analogy was lovely! Happy New Year!

  2. 2 Sherry January 5, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Vickie

    You just made my day!!! I’ve been checking your website & Amazon for news about Legacy Of Stone for months. It has been at the top of my most wanted books & I can’t wait for it to come out.

  3. 3 Pam Lineback Hardie January 31, 2009 at 12:48 am

    Hey Vickey,

    Mom(aunt Ginger) and I have logged into your web site for the first time and enjoyed reading everything you have been up to lately. Mom said tell Fred and Sarah hey and she will see you in April. I’m not going to take up your time…I just wanted to say hi and I’m going to look for some more of your books I have 5 so I need to do some more reading…..If I can make it I guess I will see you at the wedding. Take care.

    Pam

    • 4 vickietaylor January 31, 2009 at 1:16 am

      Hey Pam!
      It’s great to hear from you. It’s been too long. I hope I will see you in April and we can have some time to catch up. It’s been too long since I’ve been home.
      Vickie

  4. 5 Kristina_Meyer February 3, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Hi Vickie,

    I can’t tell you how happy I am that I will finally be able to read the 3rd installment of Les Gargouillen!! I was actually thinking that you had been beamed up by green, big eyed aliens, or pushing up daisies because Legacy of Stone was actually on shelves for a short amount of time then taken off before I could buy it. Whew, I’m glad your okay.

    Can’t wait!

    Sincerly,
    Kristina

  5. 6 Nancy February 5, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Hello Vickie!

    I am thrilled to see that you are “back”. While waiting for the 3rd Gargoyle novel to be completed I did as I said I would and hunted down copies of all your previously published work. I came up with 11 titles. I hope I found them all. I started reading your “oldest” material, The Man Behind The Badge from 1999 and worked my way up to your most recent, which was of course Flesh and Stone. I really enjoyed every one of your books and am glad I invested the time and money to find and purchase them. I would reccommend that anyone else who has shown an interest in your Gargoyles should expand their horizon and look into your other books as well.
    Well, while I am happy to see the new website and all that entails, I am even happier that you are writing again and that we have more to look foward to from you in the future. I am glad everything worked out!!!

    Take care of yourself and thank you…..

    Sincerely,
    Nancy

    • 7 vickietaylor February 6, 2009 at 1:13 am

      Wow, Nancy. How awesome are you??

      If you found 11 books, you probably got everything except RIPPLE EFFECT which was part of a continuity series Harlequin put out and was very narrowly distributed. I can’t believe you found them all!! I don’t even have copies of most of those books anymore.

      I am beyond thrilled to be writing again and to be enjoying it again. I hope there are more people like you out there who will remember me when the books hit the shelves!

      Thanks again for the boost of confidence. It makes my smile that much broader when I turn on the computer each morning.

      Vickie


Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 507 other followers


