Dogs Days of Summer on the Farm

We’ve definitely hit the dog days of summer here on the farm, with temperatures over 100 degrees every day. And to celebrate, there’s a new dog in residence. Meet Amber, my new foster! Sorry about the bad red phone pic. Don’t know why it does that when I take pics inside.

 Amber is a five-month-old yellow lab pup. She was about to be euthanized at a local shelter because she had a minor URI (upper respiratory infection). Nothing serious at all…and yet it almost cost her life. Luckily for her, the great team at Humane Society of Flower Mound wouldn’t let that happen! Her rescue was truly a team effort as I couldn’t make it down to Fort Worth that day, and her time was up. But a call for volunteers was put out, and we quickly had people ready to pick her up in Ft. Worth, take her straight to the vet in Flower Mound (an hour away). Wait for to have her little cough checked out by the vet and get a few antibiotics onboard, meet with the (also voluteered to come in) HSFM team to get her all checked in and entered into our database, microchipped, vaccinated, treated for fleas, etc., then drive her to Denton (30 minutes away) where I picked her up. She is doing great, and I’m sure she’ll be available for adoption soon (just as soon as we clear up that little cough). She is very sweet, a little timid but coming out of her shell quickly. She loves other dogs, is unphased by cats. She’s going to make someone a great pet!

With the dog situation all taken care of, I had time to take a little ride on the yella horse this morning before it got too hot. He is doing terrific, becoming a really solid riding horse. Afterward I gave him a bath and fitted him with his new UV protective mask. Paladin has two blue eyes, one of them with no dark pigment around it at all, which makes him susceptible to horrible sunburn in the summer, and even cancer in the long run if not protected. This one is called a bug eye mask. The portion of the eyes is semi-formed to puff out so it won’t irritate his eyes.

 Of course as soon as I turned him outside, he rolled, undoing the bath work and mashing in the supposed molded bug eyes.

I’m now taking bets how long it will be before he rips the whole thing off and stomps it in the dirt!

On tap for the rest of the day, writing, writing, writing, and a little reading. I’m copyediting for a woman out east who has written a wonderful memoir. Guess I haven’t mentioned that last year I enrolled in the Copyediting Certificate Program at University of California – San Diego. It’s an 18-month course, and I’m in my last semester. I graduate in August! I’ve already started taking on some freelance editing clients. Look for the debut of my new website spelling it all out in the next few weeks.

Have a great day, all.

4 Responses to “Dogs Days of Summer on the Farm”


  1. 1 Karen July 1, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    Vickie, you are a most amazing person. I feel special just being related to you!!

    • 2 vickietaylor July 3, 2012 at 3:18 pm

      Thanks, Karen! I just do what I enjoy doing. And I’m proud to be part of such an amazing family.

  2. 3 Gale David July 3, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Vickie, you are amazing. And I never realized we had so much in common! (I am NOT hinting that I am amazing…I’m not…just trying to stay busy …). I, too, just started a new (unpaid voluntary) job editing a quarterly magazine for my national retirement group. And I have been asked to write a new column for it, too! You foster dogs and horses, and so do I. I can only foster one horse at a time MAYBE 2, due to limited space. I am so glad you took in this little lab pup. He came in about the same time Jeremiah did and just after Trooper and I was torn trying to decide if I could take in two or three needy dogs at the same time. Luckily for folks like you and Jenny Froh, I didn’t have to make that choice. You are amazing! And so very much appreciated!

    • 4 vickietaylor July 3, 2012 at 3:23 pm

      Gale,

      We do have a lot in common! You do amazing work with your volunteer activities (all of them). I have not been fostering horses lately because I just can’t afford it, but 3 of my 4 horses are rescues of one sort or another, as is one of my 2 donkeys. I would love to foster more horses and donkeys. And dogs, of course. Always the dogs! I ended up letting little Amber in my blog post go to another foster because she’s a sweet, easy-to-get-alone-with thing, and Thomas, the rottie mix needed me more. Thomas is quite a handful! But he’s just never had the consistency and outlets for his energy that he needs. I think he’ll start shaping up pretty quickly on the farm and be an awesome addition to someone’s family down the road. Keep up the good work, Gale! Love ‘ya for all you do for animals. And good luck with the writing and editing.


Leave a Reply

Twitter: What’s Vickie Up to Now?

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 455 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

