Healthy Eating Idea #3

It’s no secret that I’ve packed on a few pounds these last few years, a victim of middle age and the butt-in-chair lifestyle of a writer. Thankfully, I’ve recently been shedding them back off with some careful eating. I’ve dropped 22 lbs. and I’m still rolling strong!

One of my strategies for losing weight is to take every opportunity to trim a few extra calories off of my favorite meals (instead of giving up those favorites). I like tacos. I mean, who doesn’t? But those corn taco shells add a lot of extra calories for not much nutritional value. So as I was thinking up way to have tacos without breaking the weight bank and a way to use up some romaine lettuce in the fridge without having to eat another salad, a light bulb popped on (in my mind, not the fridge. That one was already on as I stood there contemplating while all the cold air escaped).

Taco boats. Yep, I was going to make taco boats.

I’m still a vegetarian, so I opted for a portabello mushroom sauteed in taco seasoning filling, and kept the toppings light–some salsa, a slice of avocado, a few black olives, a small crumble of queso fresco; however, this idea will work fine with whatever you like to use as a main taco filling. But I saved over 100 calories by forgoing the corn taco shell in favor of a romaine lettuce boat. I was going to put lettuce on the taco anyway, so why not use it as the containment vessel?

Here’s what I did: I sliced a stem of romaine lettuce in half lengthwise. Then by hand I peeled out the innermost leaves (putting them back in the bag for use in a salad another time). The remaining lettuce was a perfect little boat. I put my portabello filling in, layered on my toppings, and it was done! 

It turned out so great that I devoured it. I did some quick calorie calculations and determined that with my vegetarian filling (I’ve since also done this with a taco-seasoned black bean mix and a Spanish rice mix) I could have TWO taco boats for less calories than I would ingest with just one taco in a shell.

So give it a try. It’s a perfect summer dish: cool, crisp and pretty.

How do you go about trimming a few extra calories from your diet to achieve your weight goals? Or to maintain your weight for those lucky enough to be in a healthy range?

And hey, don’t forget my psychological suspense/thriller/horror short story (plus a bonus inspirational short story) is now available on Amazon for just 99 cents. Jump to the book page by clicking on the cover below.

3 Responses to “Healthy Eating Idea #3”


  1. 1 dianalayne June 8, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    I just make a “taco” salad–had one a couple of days ago, as a matter of fact. And I’ve been eating romaine lettuce sandwiches. In addition to cutting out sugar, I’m cutting back on grains, dairy and soy (temporarily) as a result of a quiz I took in the Core Balance Diet which I learned about on the Women’s To Women’s website. I’ve only been doing this a week, can’t tell any weight loss, darn it, but arthritis pain is MUCH improved. As for the middle-age spread, I’m still banging my head.

    • 2 vickietaylor June 8, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      Lettuce sandwiches…what a great idea! Because I have cut out pretty much all bread (learned recently that even whole wheat bread has a high glycemic index), so sandwiches have gone by the wayside. Now maybe I can bring them back. I had been playing with ways to do a lettuce wrap, which should be easy as well using iceberg or any of the large-leaf lettuces.

      • 3 Sylvia McDaniel June 10, 2012 at 10:17 pm

        We eat hamburgers in lettuce instead of a bun. You save a lot of calories. I love Taco’s, but I’m reallly trying to cut down our meat consumption, even the grass feed meat. Using portobello mushrooms is an excellent idea that I’m going to try. Twenty two pounds is very impressive. Way to go, Vickie.


Leave a Reply

Available Now!

western romance novel boxed set

7 men as tough as the West. 7 women ready to Cowboy Up

Available Now!

Psychological Suspense short story with a bonus inspirational short story included

Coming Soon from Vickie Taylor

Fantasy Romance Novella

What am I reading today?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker - Just started, but I'm intrigued so far!

Last five books read:

TEXAS GOTHIC - Rosemary Clement-Moore - Awesome! Great fun and spooktastic at the same time!

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs - Really creative idea. Enjoyed it very much!

BOOTSCOOTIN' BLAHNIKS - D.D. Scott - Very enjoyable, fun book!

THE GOOD DAUGHTER - Diana Layne - Awesome! Get it now!

GOT YOUR NUMBER - Stephanie Bond - Fun little mystery!

What’s on my TBR List?

GOOD OLE BOYS - Denise Barker

Reader’s Guide to E-publishing

Find your next e-book here!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 509 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 509 other followers

